The city of Savannah, Georgia was the first planned city in America. It was laid out in a grid pattern with squares for public use, and this design was later copied by other cities throughout the country.
Cobb County, located in the state of Georgia, has a rich history dating back thousands of years. The area was originally inhabited by Native American tribes, including the Cherokee Indians, who were forced to cede their land during the Indian Removal Act of the 1830s. The county was established in 1832 and named after Thomas Willis Cobb, a former U.S. Senator from Georgia.

During the American Civil War, Cobb County was heavily affected by the conflict. The Battle of Kennesaw Mountain, fought in 1864, was a major engagement in the Atlanta Campaign and resulted in heavy casualties. The county also served as a transportation hub, with the Western and Atlantic Railroad running through it, playing a crucial role in supplying Confederate forces during the war.

In the decades following the Civil War, Cobb County experienced significant growth and development. Agriculture, particularly cotton farming, was prominent until the early 20th century when suburbanization and industrialization took hold. The county saw the establishment of several new towns, such as Marietta, Smyrna, and Kennesaw, which grew rapidly as Atlanta's suburbs expanded.

Today, Cobb County is one of the most populous counties in Georgia and is known for its diverse economy, vibrant communities, and excellent schools. It is home to a variety of industries, including technology, healthcare, and telecommunications. The county also boasts numerous parks, recreational areas, and cultural attractions, making it a desirable place to live and visit in the greater Atlanta metropolitan area.

This timeline provides a condensed summary of the historical journey of Cobb County, Georgia.

  • 1832: Cobb County is created from Cherokee County.
  • 1833: Marietta becomes the county seat of Cobb County.
  • 1864: Battle of Kennesaw Mountain takes place during the Civil War.
  • 1905: The Georgia School for the Deaf is established in Cave Spring.
  • 1953: The Lockheed Martin aircraft manufacturing facility opens in Marietta.
  • 1989: Six Flags Over Georgia opens in Austell.