Fallen Men Of The Civil War

Historical marker location:
Wallingford, Connecticut
( Marker is at the intersection of North Main Street and Lupine Street, on the left when traveling north on North Main Street.)

From Wallingford

  A brief timeline of the Civil War
  • April 12, 1861: The Civil War begins with the Confederate attack on Fort Sumter, located in South Carolina's Charleston Harbor.

  • April 15, 1861: President Abraham Lincoln issues a call for 75,000 volunteers to serve in the Union Army to suppress the rebellion.

  • May 24, 1861: The first major land battle, known as the First Battle of Bull Run (or First Battle of Manassas), takes place in Virginia. It ends in Confederate victory.

  • September 17, 1862: The Battle of Antietam in Maryland becomes the bloodiest single-day battle in American history, with heavy casualties on both sides. The Union forces, commanded by General George McClellan, manage to halt Confederate General Robert E. Lee's advance into Union territory.

  • January 1, 1863: President Lincoln issues the Emancipation Proclamation, declaring that all slaves in Confederate-held territories are to be set free. However, the proclamation does not immediately free all slaves in the United States.

  • July 1-3, 1863: The Battle of Gettysburg in Pennsylvania takes place, resulting in a significant Union victory and inflicting heavy casualties on Confederate forces. It marks a turning point in the war.

  • November 19, 1863: President Lincoln delivers the Gettysburg Address, emphasizing the principles of liberty, equality, and the preservation of the Union.

  • April 9, 1865: General Robert E. Lee surrenders to Union General Ulysses S. Grant at Appomattox Court House in Virginia, effectively ending the Civil War.

  • April 14, 1865: President Lincoln is assassinated by John Wilkes Booth while attending a play at Ford's Theatre in Washington, D.C.

  • May 10, 1865: Confederate President Jefferson Davis is captured, signaling the collapse of the Confederate government.

  • December 6, 1865: The Thirteenth Amendment to the United States Constitution is ratified, officially abolishing slavery throughout the country.

While this timeline provides an overview of key events, it is important to note that the Civil War spanned over four years, from 1861 to 1865, and encompassed numerous battles, campaigns, and political developments that shaped the course of American history.

The first lollipop-making machine was invented in New Haven, Connecticut in 1908 by George Smith. He named the candy after a popular racing horse called Lolly Pop.
New Haven County, located in the state of Connecticut, has a rich and varied history that dates back to the early 17th century. The area was originally inhabited by the indigenous Quinnipiac tribe before the arrival of European settlers. In 1638, English Puritans led by Reverend John Davenport and Theophilus Eaton established a settlement in the area, which would later become the city of New Haven.

During the colonial period, New Haven County played a significant role in the development of the Connecticut Colony. The settlement grew rapidly and became a major center of trade and commerce. In 1701, the city of New Haven was officially chartered as a separate municipality, and Yale College, now known as Yale University, was founded in 1701. The college became a prestigious institution and helped solidify New Haven County's reputation as an intellectual and cultural hub.

New Haven County was also a prominent player in the American Revolutionary War. The region was heavily involved in the resistance against British rule, with notable figures like Benedict Arnold and Nathan Hale hailing from the area. The Battle of New Haven in 1779 saw British forces invade the city, but thanks to the local militia's resistance, the British troops were eventually repelled.

In the 19th and 20th centuries, New Haven County thrived as an industrial center, particularly in manufacturing. The region was known for its production of firearms, clocks, and rubber goods. The city of New Haven saw significant growth and urban development during this period, attracting immigrants from all over the world, especially from Italy and Ireland. Today, New Haven County remains an important part of Connecticut's history, with its architectural landmarks, cultural institutions, and vibrant communities.

This timeline provides a concise overview of the key events in the history of New Haven County, Connecticut.

  • 1638: The New Haven Colony was founded by English Puritans
  • 1644: New Haven Colony becomes a part of the Connecticut Colony
  • 1662: Connecticut Colony receives a Royal Charter, formalizing its existence
  • 1722: New Haven County is established from the southwestern part of the Connecticut Colony
  • 1764: The city of New Haven is incorporated
  • 1885: The city of Waterbury is incorporated
  • 1893: Hamden is incorporated as a town
  • 1920: New Haven County experiences significant industrial growth
  • 1954: Construction of the Connecticut Turnpike begins
  • 1958: Yale University and the city of New Haven engage in urban renewal projects
  • 1975: The Connecticut Post Mall opens in Milford
  • 1990: The Peabody Museum of Natural History relocates to a new building at Yale
  • 2005: New Haven celebrates the 350th anniversary of its founding