The Colorado Mineral Belt, which stretches from the San Juan Mountains in the south to Boulder in the north, is a rich source of gold, silver, copper, lead, and other minerals. The area was first mined by Native Americans, and later by Spanish explorers and prospectors during the Gold Rush. Today, the mining industry is still an important part of Colorado's economy.
Arapahoe County is located in the state of Colorado in the United States. It was originally inhabited by various Native American tribes, including the Arapaho, Cheyenne, and Ute peoples. The first European settlers arrived in the area during the mid-19th century, following the passage of the Kansas-Nebraska Act in 1854.

In 1858, gold was discovered in the South Platte River in what is now Arapahoe County. This led to a significant influx of prospectors and settlers, and the establishment of several mining camps. The county was officially established in 1861, just a few years before Colorado achieved statehood.

During this time, Arapahoe County became an important center for trade and cattle ranching. The transcontinental railroad also brought further growth and development to the area. In the late 19th century, the county's economy diversified with the establishment of industries such as agriculture, manufacturing, and services.

Over the years, Arapahoe County has experienced significant population growth and urbanization. Cities such as Littleton, Englewood, and Aurora have emerged as prominent economic and cultural hubs. Today, the county is known for its high quality of life, outdoor recreational opportunities, diverse communities, and thriving economy. Arapahoe County continues to evolve and attract new residents and businesses, while also preserving its rich history and natural beauty.

This timeline provides a concise overview of the key events in the history of Arapahoe County, Colorado.

  • 1855 - Arapahoe County is established as one of the original 17 counties of the Colorado Territory.
  • 1859 - Gold is discovered in Arapahoe County, leading to a population boom.
  • 1861 - The Colorado Territory is divided, and Arapahoe County becomes part of the newly created Jefferson Territory.
  • 1862 - The Colorado Territory is reorganized, and Arapahoe County is reestablished.
  • 1879 - Denver is separated from Arapahoe County to form its own independent city and county.
  • 1902 - The northeastern part of Arapahoe County becomes part of the new Adams County.
  • 1965 - Arapahoe County merges with South Arapahoe County to form the present-day Arapahoe County.