The United States Air Force Academy is located in Colorado Springs, and was established in 1954. It is the youngest of the five U.S. service academies.
Adams County, Colorado, is a region rich in history and has played a significant role in the development of the state. The history of the county dates back thousands of years, with evidence of human occupation by various Native American tribes. These early inhabitants left behind their artifacts and structures, which offer insights into their daily lives and cultural practices.

European settlement in Adams County began in the 19th century with the arrival of traders, trappers, and gold prospectors. Eventually, the establishment of railroads and the discovery of gold in the neighboring areas attracted more settlers to the region. The area was named after Alva Adams, the governor of Colorado at the time, and was officially organized as Adams County in 1902.

Agriculture played a crucial role in the early development of Adams County. The fertile soil of the region supported the growth of crops such as wheat, corn, and sugar beets, which encouraged further settlement and economic growth. The county saw the construction of irrigation systems, enabling farmers to cultivate the land more efficiently.

Adams County also experienced unprecedented growth during World War II due to the establishment of Lowry Air Force Base and the Adams County Naval Station. These military installations brought an influx of people to the area and had a significant impact on the local economy. After the war, the region transitioned into a more urbanized and industrialized area, with the growth of manufacturing and commercial sectors.

Today, Adams County continues to thrive, offering a diverse mix of industries, including aerospace, healthcare, and agriculture. The county is also home to various natural parks and recreational areas, preserving its rich history and providing a high quality of life for its residents.

This timeline provides a condensed summary of the historical journey of Adams County, Colorado.

  • 1858 - Adams County formed as one of the original 17 counties in the Territory of Kansas
  • 1861 - Adams County transferred to the Territory of Colorado
  • 1901 - Thornton becomes the first city in Adams County
  • 1902 - Brighton is incorporated
  • 1903 - Commerce City is incorporated
  • 1904 - Watkins is incorporated
  • 1949 - Adams County Fair begins
  • 1952 - Adams State Junior College (now Community College of Denver) is established
  • 1962 - Aurora becomes a city and is partially located in Adams County
  • 2001 - Adams County Regional Park opens
  • 2013 - The historic Adams County Courthouse is destroyed by fire