The first Walmart store was opened in Rogers, Arkansas, in 1962 by Sam Walton, who went on to build one of the largest retail chains in the world. Today, Walmart is headquartered in Bentonville, Arkansas, and is one of the largest employers in the state.
Sevier County, located in southwest Arkansas, has a rich and diverse history. It was named after John Sevier, a prominent figure in Tennessee's early history who also served as Governor of Tennessee. The county was officially established in 1828, and its first county seat was Paraclifta. However, in 1851, the seat was moved to Lockesburg, where it remains today.

In the early years of settlement, Sevier County was primarily inhabited by Native American tribes, including the Caddo and Quapaw. However, as more settlers arrived in the area, conflicts arose between the Native Americans and the newcomers, eventually leading to their forced removal by the United States government. This event, known as the Trail of Tears, greatly impacted the county and its history.

During the Civil War, Sevier County was situated on the border between the Union and Confederate territories, resulting in significant military activity in the area. The Battle of Mill Creek, fought in 1864, was one of the most notable engagements in the county during the war. Sevier County also played a part in the expansion of the railroad in the late 19th and early 20th centuries, with the Kansas City Southern Railway running through the county.

In more recent history, Sevier County has become known for its natural beauty and attractions. It is home to the Ouachita National Forest, which offers stunning landscapes and abundant outdoor recreational opportunities. The county is also famous for its annual reenactment of the Battle of Cove Creek during the Memorial Day weekend. Today, Sevier County continues to thrive as a welcoming community with a strong sense of heritage and appreciation for its past.

This timeline provides a glimpse into the major events and milestones that have shaped the history of Sevier County, Arkansas.

  • 1828 - Sevier County is established as a county in the state of Arkansas.
  • 1835 - The first settler, Nicholas Copeland, arrives in the area.
  • 1851 - The first post office is established in Paraclifta.
  • 1861-1865 - Sevier County experiences hardships and changes during the American Civil War.
  • 1881 - The Kansas City, Pittsburg and Gulf Railroad is completed, bringing economic growth to the county.
  • 1891 - The town of De Queen is officially incorporated.
  • 1915 - The Sevier County Courthouse in De Queen is built, replacing the previous courthouse.
  • 1920s - The discovery of oil brings prosperity and development to Sevier County.
  • 1964 - De Queen Lake is completed, providing recreational opportunities for residents.
  • 1985 - The Sevier County Museum is established in De Queen.
  • 2004 - The Cossatot River State Park-Natural Area is opened.