During the Civil War, Arkansas was a Confederate state, and the battles of Pea Ridge and Prairie Grove were fought in the state. In addition, the city of Little Rock was occupied by Union troops for much of the war.
Franklin County is located in the state of Arkansas, USA. Named after Benjamin Franklin, one of the Founding Fathers of the United States, the county has a rich history dating back centuries. Before European settlers arrived, the Osage and Quapaw tribes inhabited the region, using the fertile lands for hunting and agriculture.

European exploration of the area began in the early 18th century, with French fur trappers venturing into the region. However, it wasn't until the Louisiana Purchase of 1803 that the area became part of the United States. In 1837, Franklin County was formally established, and Ozark was chosen as its county seat.

In the mid-19th century, Franklin County experienced rapid growth and development with the arrival of new settlers, especially during the California Gold Rush. The county became a stopping point for travelers heading west, leading to the establishment of numerous businesses and services catering to their needs.

During the Civil War, Franklin County, like many parts of Arkansas, was deeply divided. While some residents supported the Confederacy, others were loyal to the Union. The Battle of Cane Hill, fought in November 1862, was an significant event during the war in the county. Union forces were ultimately successful in gaining control of the region, leading to a period of reconstruction that followed the conflict.

Today, Franklin County continues to be a vibrant and diverse community. Its rich history can still be seen in the numerous historic sites and landmarks spread across the county. The area is known for its natural beauty, including the scenic Ozark Mountains and the Arkansas River that flows through the region.

This timeline provides a concise overview of the key events in the history of Franklin County, Arkansas.

  • 1812 - Franklin County, AR is established as a county within the Territory of Missouri.
  • 1820 - The first post office in the county, called Ozark, is established.
  • 1837 - Ozark becomes the county seat.
  • 1861-1865 - Franklin County, like many other southern counties, is affected by the American Civil War.
  • 1874 - Franklin County experiences a significant population increase due to the construction of the Little Rock and Fort Smith Railroad.
  • 1897 - The city of Charleston is incorporated as a second-class city in Franklin County.
  • 1936 - A new courthouse is built, replacing the previous one that was destroyed by fire.
  • 1984 - The Ozark National Forest, located partly in Franklin County, is established.
  • 2010 - The population of Franklin County reaches over 18,000 people.