The town of Eureka Springs, Arkansas, was founded in the late 19th century as a health resort due to its location near natural springs believed to have healing properties. Today, it is a popular tourist destination known for its Victorian architecture and scenic beauty.
Crawford County, Arkansas, has a rich and diverse history that spans several centuries. It was first inhabited by Native American tribes, including the Osage and Cherokee, who thrived in the area before the arrival of European settlers. The region became a part of the United States through the Louisiana Purchase in 1803.

In the early 19th century, European-American settlers began to establish communities in what is now Crawford County. The population grew rapidly with the coming of the Butterfield Overland Mail route in the 1850s, which brought much-needed transportation and trade opportunities to the area. During the Civil War, Crawford County witnessed significant military activity, including skirmishes and the Battle of Van Buren in 1862.

The late 19th century saw Crawford County's economy largely dependent on agriculture, with cotton being the predominant crop. The construction of railroads during this time further bolstered economic growth and facilitated the transportation of goods to larger markets. In the early 20th century, the county's economy diversified with the emergence of coal mining and lumber industries, which played a crucial role in driving the local economy for decades.

Over the years, Crawford County continued to develop and evolve. Today, it is home to a diverse population and a mix of industries, including manufacturing, healthcare, and tourism. Its historical sites and scenic beauty attract visitors from across the country, providing a glimpse into its vibrant past and promising future.

This timeline provides a glimpse into the major events and milestones that have shaped the history of Crawford County, Arkansas.

  • 1817 - Crawford County is established as part of the Arkansas Territory.
  • 1820 - The population of Crawford County reaches over 1,000 residents.
  • 1837 - Van Buren becomes the county seat of Crawford County.
  • 1861-1865 - Crawford County residents actively participate in the American Civil War.
  • 1873 - The first railroad, the St. Louis and San Francisco Railroad, reaches Crawford County.
  • 1875 - The city of Alma is incorporated in Crawford County.
  • 1905 - The Crawford County Courthouse is built in Van Buren.
  • 1927 - A devastating flood hits Van Buren, causing significant damage to the city.
  • 1942-1945 - Crawford County residents contribute to the war effort during World War II.
  • 1983 - The Crawford County Historical Society is established to preserve and promote the county's history.