National Register Listings in
Conway County, Arkansas

Available on Amazon
The town of Eureka Springs, Arkansas, was founded in the late 19th century as a health resort due to its location near natural springs believed to have healing properties. Today, it is a popular tourist destination known for its Victorian architecture and scenic beauty.
Conway County, Arkansas, located in the central region of the state, has a rich history that dates back to the early 19th century. The area was originally inhabited by Native American tribes, including the Quapaw and Osage. European exploration began in the 18th century, with French explorers navigating the Arkansas River.

The Louisiana Purchase in 1803 opened up the region to American settlement. John Cunningham established the first permanent settlement in the area that would become Conway County in 1809. The county was officially established in 1825 and named after Henry Wharton Conway, a prominent politician from Arkansas Territory.

During the Civil War, Conway County experienced both Union and Confederate occupation. The Battle of Lewisburg took place in the county in 1864, with Confederate troops attempting to stop Union forces from advancing further into Arkansas. In the latter part of the war, Union troops were stationed in the county, and the town of Lewisburg was burned as a result of guerrilla warfare.

Following the war, Conway County saw rapid growth and development. The completion of the Little Rock and Fort Smith Railroad in the 1870s provided improved transportation and boosted economic activity. Agriculture, specifically cotton farming and timber production, became the mainstay of the county's economy.

In the early 20th century, Conway County experienced growth in transportation infrastructure, with the construction of highways and the establishment of public schools. The construction of Nimrod Dam on the Arkansas River in the 1940s further contributed to the county's economic growth by providing hydroelectric power and recreational opportunities.

Today, Conway County continues to thrive with a diverse economy that includes agriculture, manufacturing, and a growing services sector. The county is known for its natural beauty, with the Ozark Mountains and the Arkansas River providing ample opportunities for outdoor activities.

This timeline provides a condensed summary of the historical journey of Conway County, Arkansas.

  • 1825 - Conway County is established as one of the original five counties of the Arkansas Territory.
  • 1831 - Morrilton becomes the county seat of Conway County.
  • 1861-1865 - Conway County is heavily affected by the American Civil War.
  • 1873 - Arkansas River floods cause significant damage to the county.
  • 1890 - The railroad reaches Morrilton, improving transportation and facilitating economic growth.
  • 1933 - Petit Jean State Park is established in Conway County.
  • 1948 - The Toad Suck Ferry is replaced by the Toad Suck Lock and Dam on the Arkansas River.
  • 1977 - The Morrilton Historic District is added to the National Register of Historic Places.
  • 1996 - The Conway County Museum is established in Morrilton.