Arkansas was one of the first states in the U.S. to enact a statewide prohibition on the sale and consumption of alcohol, passing the law in 1915. Prohibition was repealed in the state in 1933, shortly after the end of the nationwide prohibition era.
Carroll County, Arkansas, has a rich and diverse history dating back thousands of years. The area was initially inhabited by Native American tribes, including the Osage, Caddo, and Cherokee, who were attracted to the region's abundant natural resources. The first European exploration of the area came in the late 1700s, with French and Spanish explorers venturing through the region.

In the early 19th century, white settlers began to arrive in Carroll County, attracted by the fertile land and potential for farming. The region became part of the Arkansas Territory in 1819 and was officially organized as Carroll County in 1833. The county was named after Charles Carroll, one of the signers of the Declaration of Independence.

During the Civil War, Carroll County witnessed significant action as it straddled the Union and Confederate frontier. The Battle of Pea Ridge in 1862, fought in nearby Benton County, played a crucial role in securing the region for the Union. Despite being mostly pro-Confederate prior to the war, the majority of Carroll County's residents ultimately supported the Union during the conflict.

After the war, Carroll County experienced a period of growth and development. The arrival of the railroad in 1882 boosted the local economy, facilitating trade and transportation. The county became known for its timber and mining industries, attracting immigrants from various European countries. Today, Carroll County is a vibrant community that cherishes its history while embracing progress and development.

This timeline provides a glimpse into the major events and milestones that have shaped the history of Carroll County, Arkansas.

  • 1833: Carroll County, Arkansas is officially established by the Arkansas Territorial Legislature.
  • 1834: The county seat is established in the town of Carrollton.
  • 1836: The first courthouse is erected in Carrollton.
  • 1861: On the eve of the American Civil War, Carroll County is divided into pro-Union and pro-Confederate factions.
  • 1865: The Civil War ends and Carroll County begins to rebuild.
  • 1875: The railroad reaches Carroll County, bringing new opportunities for commerce and trade.
  • 1888: Eureka Springs, a popular tourist destination, is established in Carroll County.
  • 1901: The current courthouse in Berryville is completed, replacing the one in Carrollton.
  • 1962: Beaver Lake is created by the construction of Beaver Dam, providing a recreational area for residents and visitors.
  • 1985: The historic downtown district of Eureka Springs is added to the National Register of Historic Places.
  • 2000: Carroll County's population reaches over 25,000 people.