Available on Amazon
The first European settlement in Alabama was established in 1702 by the French at Fort Louis de la Mobile, which is now the city of Mobile. It was named after Louis XIV of France and was the capital of French Louisiana until 1711.
Elmore County, located in the central part of Alabama, has a rich history that dates back thousands of years. The area was originally inhabited by Native American tribes, including the Creek and Cherokee, who lived off the land and established their own communities. European colonization began in the late 18th century, with settlers primarily coming from Georgia and the Carolinas.

In 1805, Alabama became a territory of the United States, and Elmore County was established in 1866 after the end of the Civil War. The county was named after General John A. Elmore, a wealthy planter and legislator. Agriculture was the main economic activity in the region during this period, with cotton being the primary crop. The county's proximity to the Alabama River made it an ideal location for trading and transportation.

The late 19th and early 20th centuries brought significant development to Elmore County. The construction of the Montgomery and Wetumpka Railroad in the 1870s connected the county to larger cities, boosting commerce and trade. The county's population grew steadily, and towns like Wetumpka, Tallassee, and Eclectic flourished. The growth of industries such as textile mills and lumber mills further contributed to the county's economy.

Elmore County, like the rest of the Deep South, experienced the challenges of racial segregation and civil rights struggles during the mid-20th century. The county played a role in the civil rights movement, and notable leaders like Rosa Parks were actively involved in advocating for equality. Today, Elmore County continues to grow and adapt to changing times, with a diverse economy that includes agriculture, manufacturing, and service industries. The county is also known for its natural beauty, with attractions like Lake Martin and the Coosa River drawing visitors from near and far.

This timeline provides a concise overview of the key events in the history of Elmore County, Alabama.

  • 1818 - Elmore County is established on February 15, as one of the original counties of the Alabama Territory.
  • 1820 - Coosada, the first county seat, is established.
  • 1830 - Wetumpka becomes the new county seat.
  • 1836 - The first courthouse is built in Wetumpka.
  • 1865 - Wetumpka is sacked and burned by Union troops during the Civil War.
  • 1870 - Elmore County's population reaches over 14,000 people.
  • 1876 - A new courthouse is constructed in Wetumpka.
  • 1925 - The present-day courthouse in Wetumpka, designed by Frank Lockwood, is completed.
  • 1954 - The Holtville community separates from Elmore County to become its own town.
  • 1990 - Elmore County's population exceeds 40,000 residents.
  • 2010 - The population of Elmore County reaches over 79,000 people.