Historical Markers in
Clark County, Ohio

75th Anniversary of the Madonna of the Trail Statue A Relict from an Icy Past A. B. Graham Adena Mound Enon Ohio Asa Smith Bushnell Asbury Methodist Church Asbury Veterans Monument Battle of Piqua Benjamin Garver Lamme / Bertha Lamme Bethel Township Civil War Memorial Buena Vista Tavern City Building Clark County Memorial Clark County Revolutionary War Memorial Daniel Rudd Davey Moore Park DeMint Memorial Park Eliza D. Stewart Enon Adena Mound Enon Civil War Memorial Esplanade/Fountain Square First Tavern in Springfield Gammon House General George Rogers Clark / Tecumseh George Rogers Clark Gordon I. Henslee H. A. "Harry" Toulmin Sr. Historic National Road Honey Creek Presbyterian Church Honey Creek Presbyterian Historical Marker In Memory of Those Men Who Died in the Battle of Piqua James Demint Cabin James Leffel Jeremiah Warder and Ann Aston Warder John Dick John Dillinger's First Bank Robbery John Ludlow John M. Temple John Paul, First White Settler in Clark County, Ohio Kenton's Stockade Lest We Forget Mad River Township Civil War Memorial Madonna of the Trail Medway in the 20th Century Mile Markers North Hampton Veterans Memorial Old Enon Road Stone Arch Culvert Olive Branch High School Oliver S. Kelly Oliver Smith Kelly Peckuwe Shawnee Memorial Pennsylvania House / The National Road Pleasant Township Veterans Memorial Purple Heart Memorial Ridgewood in the Country Club District Robert C. Henry Simon Kenton Site of Simon Kenton's First Log Cabin Home in Ohio Site of Springfield's First Church Snyder Park South Charleston Historic District Springfield Springfield City Hall Bell Springfield, Troy, & Piqua Electric Railway Tecumseh The A. B. Graham Building The Battle of Piqua The Battle of Piqua, or Picawey The Birthplace of 4-H The George and Sarah Gammom House The Keifer Cabin Site The National Road Tremont City Veterans Memorial Union Soldiers Monument United States Colored Troops Vale Veterans Memorial Veterans Memorial William Whiteley Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Incorporated
Ohio was the birthplace of seven US presidents: Ulysses S. Grant, Rutherford B. Hayes, James A. Garfield, Benjamin Harrison, William McKinley, William Howard Taft, and Warren G. Harding.
Clark County, located in southwestern Ohio, has a rich history that dates back to the early 1800s. The area was originally inhabited by various Native American tribes, including the Shawnee and Delaware peoples. European settlers began to arrive in the late 18th century, and the county was officially established in 1817.

The county was named after General George Rogers Clark, a prominent figure in the American Revolutionary War. His campaigns in the Northwest Territory played a significant role in securing lands in present-day Ohio. Springfield, the county seat, was founded in 1801 and quickly grew in importance as a trading and industrial center.

During the 19th century, Clark County experienced rapid industrialization. It became known for its manufacturing sector, particularly in areas such as agricultural machinery, automobiles, and appliances. Manufacturing giants like International Harvester and Crowell-Collier Publishing Company established operations in the county, contributing to its economic growth and development.

In addition to its industrial prowess, Clark County has a notable place in aviation history. The Wright brothers, Orville and Wilbur, were born and raised in the county and conducted their early experiments with flight in nearby Dayton. Today, the National Museum of the United States Air Force, located just east of Clark County, showcases the area's significance in aviation.

Over the years, Clark County has faced its share of challenges, including economic shifts and changes in industry. However, it remains a vibrant community with a diverse economy, a rich cultural heritage, and a commitment to preserving its history.

This timeline provides a glimpse into the major events and milestones that have shaped the history of Clark County, Ohio.

  • 1817: Clark County is established on March 1, 1817.
  • 1818-1819: Springfield, the county seat, is surveyed and platted.
  • 1822: The first courthouse in Clark County is built.
  • Late 1820s: William Warder, an early settler, establishes a woolen factory.
  • Early 1830s: The county's first newspaper, the "Western Star," is established.
  • 1837-1839: The county's second courthouse is constructed.
  • Mid-19th century: Springfield becomes a center of manufacturing and commerce.
  • 1861-1865: Clark County contributes soldiers to the Union Army during the American Civil War.
  • Late 19th century: Electric streetcars are introduced in Springfield.
  • Early 20th century: Manufacturing industries thrive in the county.
  • 1917-1918: Soldiers from Clark County participate in World War I.
  • 1930s: The Great Depression causes economic hardship in the county.
  • 1940s-1950s: WWII and post-war economic boom lead to industrial growth.
  • Late 20th century: Decline in manufacturing leads to economic challenges.
  • 2005: The Clark County Heritage Center opens to preserve and exhibit the county's history.