Minnesota was named after the Minnesota River, which got its name from the Dakota Sioux word "Mnisota," meaning "sky-tinted water."

Redwood County, Minnesota has a rich history that dates back thousands of years. The area was originally inhabited by Dakota Sioux Native Americans who relied on the surrounding resources for their survival. European settlers began arriving in the region in the mid-1800s, leading to significant changes in the landscape and the establishment of towns and agriculture.

In 1855, the Treaty of Traverse des Sioux was signed, opening up the area to white settlement. This led to a surge in population as immigrants from Europe, particularly Germany and Scandinavia, arrived in Redwood County to establish their homes and farms. Agriculture became the main industry, with the fertile soil providing favorable conditions for crop cultivation.

The county was officially established on March 5, 1862, and was named after the abundant Redwood trees that once covered the area. Throughout the late 19th and early 20th centuries, Redwood County experienced steady growth and development. Railroads were built, connecting the county to larger cities like Minneapolis and St. Paul, facilitating the transportation of goods and people.

However, the area also faced challenges during this period. The devastating grasshopper plagues in the 1870s and the Great Depression in the 1930s both impacted the local economy and caused hardships for residents. Despite these setbacks, Redwood County's resilience and determination allowed it to recover and continue to thrive.

Today, Redwood County remains a predominantly agricultural region with a diverse community. Its rich history and natural beauty make it a popular destination for tourists seeking to explore its scenic landscapes and learn more about its heritage.

  • 1851 - Redwood County created by the Minnesota Territorial Legislature.
  • 1852 - First settler, Joseph Lee Heywood, arrived in what is now Redwood Falls.
  • 1855 - Redwood Falls surveyed and platted.
  • 1862 - Sioux Uprising occurred in the area, resulting in the temporary evacuation of settlers.
  • 1866 - Redwood County officially organized.
  • 1867 - First newspaper, "The Redwood Gazette," established in Redwood Falls.
  • 1870 - Redwood County's population reaches over 1,000.
  • 1873 - First courthouse built in Redwood Falls.
  • 1883 - Great Hinckley Fire affects Redwood County, causing substantial damage.
  • 1895 - Redwood County Historical Society formed to preserve the county's history.
  • 1900 - Redwood County's population reaches over 15,000.
  • 1928 - Redwood County Courthouse replaced with a new building.
  • 1975 - Lower Sioux Indian Reservation established in Redwood County.
  • 1997 - Lower Sioux Agency Historic Site developed to serve as a cultural and educational center.
  • 2007 - First wind farm in Redwood County constructed.
  • 2019 - Redwood County celebrates its 168th anniversary.